The Second Installment of Way-FM’s Summer Brown Bag Concert Series

July 25, 2008 at 1:37 am 6 comments

Monday brought the second installment of the WAY-FM Summer Brown Bag Concert series in Franklin, and you’d better believe I was there for it in spite of the heat warnings. I even took a day off work (I really needed a break) so that I could stay for the whole shebang this time. If you read my post on Part One of the Brown Bag concert series, you know that one of my goals for this one (aside from taking off work for the whole day) was to meet one of my “American Idols.” More on that later. Don’t get too excited.

Brown Bag concerts, sponsored by WAY-FM, are FREE, family-friendly, start at noon(ish), and take place on the grounds of The People’s Church in Franklin. Though this this was my first year to attend one of the concerts, they are somewhat of a summer staple. Way-FM hosts the concerts most summers, usually on weekdays during the lunch hour. All you need to enjoy this concert is a love for Christian music, a blanket or lawn chair, big sunglasses, a little (make that a lot of) sunscreen, and maybe even a giant beach umbrella or tent. Did I mention that the concerts take place at noon – in the glaring heat of the midday summer sun? Come prepared.

You can bring you own lunch or a little extra cash to buy lunch from one of the food vendors, like Chick-fil-A. There was even a Purity ice cream vendor on hand with ice cream sandwiches and other cold treats to provide a little respite from the heat. For the younger kids, there was a play area with games, fun inflatable things, and shaved ice (or sno cones, as we like to call them in the Deep South).

The artists performing were Chris Sligh and Sanctus Real. Chris Sligh is a former American Idol turned Christian music artist. Chris was one of my favorite Idols from Season 6 (or of all time). Not only was he a great singer, but he also had a wicked sense of humor a great deal of wit. I mentioned earlier that I hoped I would get a chance to meet Chris Sligh, take a picture, tell him that I voted for him on Idol, you know, the usual. This did not happen, however, and it saddens me. Chris disappeared into the bus before I got the chance. Maybe to make up for it, Melinda Doolittle can perform next summer and then do a meet and greet afterwards and then invite me to go on tour with her (even though I don’t really sing). After all, she is my American Idol.

Sanctus Real is a Dove Award-winning Christian rock band from Toledo, Ohio. Their latest studio album, We Need Each Other, was release in February 2008. They’ve been around for quite a while, releasing their first independent album in 1998, according to Wikipedia, but this was my first experience with them. And I have to say, I quite liked it.

There was even an appearance by Audio Adrenaline’s front man, Mark Stuart. He was promoting the charitable efforts of World Vision and his Hands & Feet Project. But he didn’t leave before leading the crowd (despite his vocal cord troubles) in a very short version of “Big House,” oh yeah.

Like I said before, the Brown Bag Concert idea is brillz. It’s great for moms with bored or overly energetic kids who need to get out of the house for a bit. And since it’s during the lunch hour, it gives the workaholics a chance to take a little out of the ordinary break in a busy day. Sometimes, a break in the monotonous work routine is all you need to help get you through the rest of the week. I don’t know if WAY-FM will pick the Brown Bag concerts up again next year, but I sure hope they do.

Must haves: blankets or lawn chairs, sunscreen, sunglasses, water, pretty much anything that will keep you cool in the middle of one of the hottest days in July

Could have done without it: the heat

What makes it special: It’s a free Christian music concert for your lunch break. I think that’s pretty special. My usual lunch break consists of plain turkey and The View.

Know before you go: It’s going to be hot, so come prepared.

Parking: There’s plenty of parking at the People’s Church. But if you want to avoid the crowd a little, I would suggest coming in the back way by taking the road that runs in front of the Franklin YMCA.

Price: FREE

Website: waym.wayfm.com

Phone: 1-888-33-WAY-FM

Address: People’s Church, 828 Murfreesboro Rd, Franklin, TN 37064

Schedule: Check the Web site next summer for updates

Related: Way-FM’s Summer Brown Bag Concert Series

Update: I realized that I may have given a bad impression of Chris Sligh earlier when I said he disappeared. I wanted to add that he did stay after his set through the entire concert and rocked out in the front row during Sanctus Real’s performance. After their set ended, everyone (including Chris) rushed for the air-conditioned buses before I was able to make my way to the front. I can’t really blame them. It was like 100 degrees out there, after all.

Entry filed under: $ FREE, Bring the Kids, Franklin, lunch, Music. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Dave Barry on Restaurants Miss Martha’s Ice Cream Crankin’: An Ice Cream Lover’s Dream Come True

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lori  |  July 25, 2008 at 12:36 pm

    I LOVED Chris too; Curtis and totally voted for him during Season 6!!! I think he went home way too soon! That is cool that he has started doing Christian music. Cool story!

  • 2. Louise7  |  July 25, 2008 at 1:46 pm

    Melinda Doolittle are my number 1#. She will released her first album in fall . New website to support Melinda Career http://www.mdstreetteam.com come join us to support this fantastic singer.

  • 3. laurajeanette  |  July 26, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    Lori – I agree with Chris going home too early, too. His Christian stuff is good, and he live somewhere around here. Maybe I’ll run into him one day.

    Louise – Yay for new Melinda album.

  • 4. Melody  |  August 3, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    WHAT? When was Mark Staurt there. I didn’t see him. I was there for most of Sanctus Real’s show.

  • 5. laurajeanette  |  August 3, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    He came and gave a little talk about World Vision and Hands and Feet after Chris performed, but before Sanctus Real took the stage. He only sang for about 1 minute. He did the same thing at the Brown Bag concert in June, except without the singing.

  • 6. Louise7  |  January 12, 2009 at 9:50 am

    That you for letting us post about our favorite singer. Without this site, it would be really difficult to share the latest news about them.

    FREE SONG FROM AMERICAN IDOL’S MELINDA DOOLITTLE! GO TO http://www.melindadoolittle.com and get it NOW – FREE! New album released on February 3, 2009! Don’t miss it!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


One woman’s quest for oven-free (and boredom-free) living

“The only thing that I have ever successfully made in the kitchen is a mess. And several little fires.” ~ Carrie, Sex and the City

Feeds

Archives

Recent Posts

Categories


