Way-FM’s Summer Brown Bag Concert Series

June 27, 2008 at 9:01 pm 7 comments

Monday marked the return of the WAY-FM Summer Brown Bag Concert series in Franklin, and you’d better believe I was there for it. My co-worker Nita and I took a little extended lunch break, borrowed a blanket from a soccer mom (thanks, Deb), and set out to enjoy (as best we could in the heat) the blazing summer sun and rocking sounds of Article One and Superchick. Even though we had to leave before the concert was over to get back to work, it was still worth the short trip and the sweat (we don’t think our co-workers minded).

Brown Bag concerts, sponsored by WAY-FM and Kemp Orthodontics, are FREE, family-friendly, start at noon, and take place on the grounds of The People’s Church in Franklin. All you need is a blanket or lawn chair, big sunglasses, a little sunscreen, and maybe even a giant beach umbrella. Did I mention that the concerts take place at noon – in the glaring heat of the midday sun? You can bring you own lunch or a little extra cash to buy lunch from one of the food vendors, like Chick-fil-A and Blue Coast Burrito (who both gave away coupons for free stuff). There was even a Purity ice cream vendor on hand with ice cream sandwiches and other cold treats to provide a little respite from the heat. For the younger kids, there was a play area with games and fun inflatable things.

The artists performing were Article One and Superchick. Article One is a Christian alternative pop/rock group (with an electric violinist – I love violinists) from Ontario, Canada. Their latest album is Colors and Sounds. Superchick is a Christian pop/punk/rock band whose music has crossed over into mainstream media. Their latest album is Rock What You Got.

Whoever came up with the Brown Bag Concert idea is a genius. It’s great for moms with bored or overly energetic kids who need to get out of the house for a bit. And since it’s during the lunch hour, it gives the workaholics a chance to take a little out of the ordinary break in a busy day. Sometimes, a break in the monotonous work routine is all you need to help get you through the rest of the week.

The next scheduled Brown Bag Concert is on Monday, July 21st. Christian rock band Sanctus Real and former American Idol contestant turned contemporary Christian artist Chris Sligh will be performing. I love Chris Sligh. He was one of my favorite AI contestants. I’m thinking about just taking off work for the whole day so I can enjoy the entire concert this time … and maybe even get a chance to meet one of my American Idols. That would be absolutely fab.

Must haves: blankets or lawn chairs, sunscreen, sunglasses

Could have done without it: the hot, glaring sun

What makes it special: It’s a Christian music concert for your lunch break. I think that’s pretty special. My usual lunch break consists of plain turkey and The View.

Know before you go: It’s going to be hot, so come prepared.

Parking: There’s plenty of parking at the People’s Church. But if you want to avoid the crowd a little, I would suggest coming in the back way by taking the road that runs in front of the Franklin YMCA.

Price: FREE

Website: waym.wayfm.com

Phone: 1-888-33-WAY-FM

Address: People’s Church, 828 Murfreesboro Rd, Franklin, TN 37064

Schedule: The next concert is Monday, July 21, noon

Related:

The Second Installment of Way-FM’s Summer Brown Bag Concert Series

Goonies Never Say Die! Nashville Scene’s Movies in the Park

Entry filed under: $ FREE, Bring the Kids, Diversions, Franklin, Music, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Root Beer Redemption Bobbie’s Dairy Dip and an Old-Fashioned Ice Cream Social

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anonymous  |  July 20, 2008 at 9:52 pm

    …the celebrity pup…

    My dad human works at WAY-FM. I know he really appreciates your kind words about last month’s Brown Bag concert. I’ve never been to one, but I love the stories he has to tell whenever he comes home after one of them. I wish I could come tomorrow. 😦

    I bet you’ll have a good time. I hope you get to meet Mr. Sligh.

  • 2. laurajeanette  |  July 21, 2008 at 2:01 pm

    @CP – Just got back from the concert. It was really hot, but really good. I didn’t get to meet Chris Sligh. Everyone disappeared into the air-conditioned van pretty quickly after the show ended. Maybe you can hook that up for me. 🙂

  • 3. laurajeanette  |  July 21, 2008 at 2:02 pm

    Oh, and I’ll be blogging about today’s concert soon, so check back if you want to know what I have to say about it.

  • 4. Jeff  |  July 22, 2008 at 8:44 am

    Laura –

    All of us at WAY-FM are so glad you’ve been enjoying our summer Brown Bag concerts. Thanks for your kind words on your blog. I’ve enjoyed reading your posts.

    If you ever have any suggestions for ways we can make them even better, don’t hesitate to let us know.

    Jeff Brown / WAY-FM Operations Director

  • […] really needed a break) so that I could stay for the whole shebang this time. If you read my post on Part One of the Brown Bag concert series, you know that one of my goals for this one (aside from taking off work for the whole day) was to […]

  • 6. laurajeanette  |  July 25, 2008 at 9:38 am

    Thanks, Jeff. I think it’s great what you guys are doing. With the high gas (and everything else) prices, a lot of families (even those in Williamson County) may be having to cut back on summer activities. It’s nice to have a place to go that’s not only a great family-friendly experience but also free. Even people who aren’t Christians may come out because it is a free activity.

    Suggestions to make it better, hmmm … air conditioning? 🙂 Melinda Doolittle (see my newest post)? No, really, I think it’s great.

    Thanks for stopping by. Let me know if y’all have any other events happening in the future. If I’m there, I’ll write about those, too.

  • 7. Yeah 3x Video  |  September 25, 2010 at 5:30 pm

    Chris Brown is dropping some nice songs lately! I like Deuces and Yeah 3x a lot, they’re both great dancefloor fillers!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


One woman’s quest for oven-free (and boredom-free) living

“The only thing that I have ever successfully made in the kitchen is a mess. And several little fires.” ~ Carrie, Sex and the City

Feeds

Archives

Recent Posts

Categories


